Reviews For cruel summer


Name: PinsandKneazles (Signed) · Date: 17 Jul 2021 12:51 PM · For: and i might be okay but i'm not fine at all

Ach, poor Emma! I feel for her, making a bet with Raven and having to see it through!! Maybe it will go better than she anticipates...

That's one long traffic-jam that McSteamy is caught up in. I wonder if they will ever appear??

 

"Never Have I Ever" games are fatal, but oh-so-much fun to read about! Emma didn't take much convincing to ditch Kyle and join in with her friends, haha! I hope nothing happens to make her regret it because I can see the questions getting increasingly more telling as the night wears on. Will she end up wearing the loser's bottle-top chain??

 

Okay, so no-one won or lost, but OMGGGG that was one H*ll of a blow-up between Emma and Murphy. I mean, it was brewing, but wowzers. There's a LOT of unresolved shizzle between the two and I've a feeling more sparks are gonna fly!!

 

So when's the next chapter out then, hmmm?? 

 

Thanks so much for the swap, it's been super-fun to check out this story and it's a new one for me to follow. Win-win :)))

 

Pins x



Name: PinsandKneazles (Signed) · Date: 17 Jul 2021 12:49 PM · For: and i might be okay but i'm not fine at all

Ach, poor Emma! I feel for her, making a bet with Raven and having to see it through!! Maybe it will go better than she anticipates...

 

That's one long traffic-jam that McSteamy is caught up in. I wonder if they will ever appear??

 

"Never Have I Ever" games are fatal, but oh-so-much fun to read about! Emma didn't take much convincing to ditch Kyle and join in with her friends, haha! I hope nothing happens to make her regret it because I can see the questions getting increasingly more telling as the night wears on. Will she end up wearing the loser's bottle-top chain??

 

Okay, so no-one won or lost, but OMGGGG that was one H*ll of a blow-up between Emma and Murphy. I mean, it was brewing, but wowzers. There's a LOT of unresolved shizzle between the two and I've a feeling more sparks are gonna fly!!

 

So when's the next chapter out then, hmmm?? 

 

Thanks so much for the swap, it's been super-fun to check out this story and it's a new one for me to follow. Win-win :)))

 

Pins x



Name: PinsandKneazles (Signed) · Date: 17 Jul 2021 12:49 PM · For: and i might be okay but i'm not fine at all

Ach, poor Emma! I feel for her, making a bet with Raven and having to see it through!! Maybe it will go better than she anticipates...

 

That's one long traffic-jam that McSteamy is caught up in. I wonder if they will ever appear??

 

"Never Have I Ever" games are fatal, but oh-so-much fun to read about! Emma didn't take much convincing to ditch Kyle and join in with her friends, haha! I hope nothing happens to make her regret it because I can see the questions getting increasingly more telling as the night wears on. Will she end up wearing the loser's bottle-top chain??

 

Okay, so no-one won or lost, but OMGGGG that was one H*ll of a blow-up between Emma and Murphy. I mean, it was brewing, but wowzers. There's a LOT of unresolved shizzle between the two and I've a feeling more sparks are gonna fly!!

 

So when's the next chapter out then, hmmm?? 

 

Thanks so much for the swap, it's been super-fun to check out this story and it's a new one for me to follow. Win-win :)))

 

Pins x



Name: PinsandKneazles (Signed) · Date: 17 Jul 2021 10:39 AM · For: this is looking like a contest of who could act like they care less

Hello! I thought I'd carry on and see what chapter 2 has in store :) I really need to read the previous story if there is one, because I have questions. Lots of questions! And now James and Perri and the second summer have been added to that list, hmmmm...

 

So it's not just a break-up that might be affecting Emma (and Murphy, but technically, he showed up second, so); it sounds as though there was some kind of tragedy at the beach a few years ago, involving James (and Perri?). I love the dialogue between Perri and Murphy and the way they are sort of winding each other up without going too far. It's blatantly apparent that Murphy still holds a candle for Emma - WHAT HAPPENED LAST YEAR? WHY DID THEY SPLIT?? - and I think he might be getting a teensy little bit jealous of the neighbours...Emma and Murphy are certainly comfortable in silence together, which speaks volumes, ahhhhh!!! I think Murphy (or Emma?) might have to make a move if they aren't going to lose each other to someone else.

 

Who actually invited Murphy? Or will we find out later? Or have I missed it? Was it someone with the ulterior motive of reuniting him with Emma, perhaps?

 

There's probably some history between Bellamy and Murphy, I'm guessing? And is Bellamy also one of Emma's exes? This could get very messy if so, because if it was Bellamy talking about regrets, does he still like Emma too???

 

I LOVE A COMPLICATION OR SEVERAL!! Just throwing that in there, haha! 

 

Murphy can't keep his eyes off Emma!! Maybe he shouldl say something before Emma steps out of his life again and into the arms of Kyle...and No. He's taken her words at face value and is letting her go again, with a screen door slam.

 

Another amazing chapter! Love the tension that you've built already and the character dynamics

 

Pins x

 

 



Name: PinsandKneazles (Signed) · Date: 17 Jul 2021 09:07 AM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

Hey Jill! It's SUCH a long time since I visited your AP. In fact, I can't remember the last time, which is...I'm sorry, okay? But I'll try and make amends :)

 

Can I just say how gorgeous the picspam is? I love the complementary shades of blue and orange, and it goes perfectly with the dreamy opening to this chapter. I haven't read any previous work of yours containing these characters (and I'm not familiar with The 100), so I apologise if I'm stating or missing the obvious at any point. 

 

I'm immediately intrigued by why Emma would not want to smile at being here on a beautiful beach on a perfect summer's day unless there's some history behind her thoughts, and the next paragraph indicates there is. It's so difficult when somewhere so idyllic and full of memories gets tainted with something - should her memories focus on the negatives or positives? Bit of an inner dilemma for Emma, I guess.

 

I am DYING to know who McSteamy is, haha!! Are they real or a figment of Raven's imagination? 

 

Oh. It's a break-up. From the way Emma is talking, I get the feeling that she's not really over her ex at all. I wonder whether she was going to confess how she really felt at that point, but changed her mind? It's kinda obvious she still feels something for them. How did they break up? Is it irrevocable? The banter is super fun between the two friends and I wonder who Emma will end up with out of the neighbours, if any...I look forward to reading on and finding out.

 

Ah no. The arrival of Emma's ex is a bit of a twist - I mean, of course he's entitled to be there too if he's been invited, but maybe the decent thing would have been to stay away? And defensive, much? That phrase "I didn't think it would be a problem" throws it into Emma's court. I'm glad to see she maintains her composure. Is it me or is that a bit manipulative of him to cook her a burger with all her favourite toppings?? She's still clearly trying to get over him and he's not helping!!

 

Amazing final line of the burger being cooked to perfection. Damnit!!

 

I love the natural dialogue in this chapter and the way that the characters have been introduced. Your writing, as always, is a treat to read. 

 

Pins x



Name: PinsandKneazles (Signed) · Date: 17 Jul 2021 09:06 AM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

Hey Jill! It's SUCH a long time since I visited your AP. In fact, I can't remember the last time, which is...I'm sorry, okay? But I'll try and make amends :)

 

Can I just say how gorgeous the picspam is? I love the complementary shades of blue and orange, and it goes perfectly with the dreamy opening to this chapter. I haven't read any previous work of yours containing these characters (and I'm not familiar with The 100), so I apologise if I'm stating or missing the obvious at any point. 

 

I'm immediately intrigued by why Emma would not want to smile at being here on a beautiful beach on a perfect summer's day unless there's some history behind her thoughts, and the next paragraph indicates there is. It's so difficult when somewhere so idyllic and full of memories gets tainted with something - should her memories focus on the negatives or positives? Bit of an inner dilemma for Emma, I guess.

 

I am DYING to know who McSteamy is, haha!! Are they real or a figment of Raven's imagination? 

 

Oh. It's a break-up. From the way Emma is talking, I get the feeling that she's not really over her ex at all. I wonder whether she was going to confess how she really felt at that point, but changed her mind? It's kinda obvious she still feels something for them. How did they break up? Is it irrevocable? The banter is super fun between the two friends and I wonder who Emma will end up with out of the neighbours, if any...I look forward to reading on and finding out.

 

Ah no. The arrival of Emma's ex is a bit of a twist - I mean, of course he's entitled to be there too if he's been invited, but maybe the decent thing would have been to stay away? And defensive, much? That phrase "I didn't think it would be a problem" throws it into Emma's court. I'm glad to see she maintains her composure. Is it me or is that a bit manipulative of him to cook her a burger with all her favourite toppings?? She's still clearly trying to get over him and he's not helping!!

 

Amazing final line of the burger being cooked to perfection. Damnit!!

 

I love the natural dialogue in this chapter and the way that the characters have been introduced. Your writing, as always, is a treat to read. 

 

Pins x



Name: maraudertimes (Signed) · Date: 06 Jul 2021 04:37 PM · For: this is looking like a contest of who could act like they care less

Jillllll!!! <3 here to give you a nano gift, i hope its as amazing as im sure ill find this chapter <3


UGHHHH JUST START MAKING OUT I SWEAR (sorry lol)


Ooooooh this whole lowkey Raven and Perri thing makes me think that they are definitely hooking up (or something) and he just isn’t taking the hint lol


HE WAS HOME?!?!? Be still my broken heart………………


Ugh i love the miscommunication trope like “shes bad at expressing herself” as a writer, but as a reader i wanna shake emma and murphy so bad right now!!!


O M G emmas gonna stay behind too and its gonna just be the two of them isnt it… YASSSS i knew it what an amazing time i love this!! <3


AGHHHH he was thinking about kissing her while shes waiting to go on a date with someone else, omggggggg ur killing me here jill…


UGHHHHHHH UGH UGH UGHHHHH?!?!?!??!?!???!???!?!??!???!??!?!?!?


THATS NOT WHAT EITHER OF THEM WANT AHHHHHHHH WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS???


Amazing second chapter Jill, thank you so much for writing this and these disasters in general i’ve fallen in love with them so hard, and you bet ur ass im gonna be hounding you about writing more of this <3

 

Lo <3




Name: Aphoride (Signed) · Date: 14 Jun 2021 06:44 PM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

hi there, jill!! i'm so so so late on this, i'm so sorry - better late than never is really being pushed to it's limited with this :/ but i'm here for our review swap! 

 

you have such a gift for writing people, you know that?? just, complicated, real, 3d people - people i feel like i could know or have known in real life, with all the flaws and difficulties and hypocrises that means. it's so so good and i always love your characters - they feel like friends and i feel so invested in their lives and their stories, haha, and emma. just. i love her?? the conflict she feels about being back at the beachhouse post-breakup, the hurt when she sees murphy, and the way she can't help but get defensive and a lil bit spiteful - hating that the burger's cooked exactly how she likes it; being snippy without really any reason to be - it's all so normal and so human and it fills out this beautiful characterisation-backstory for her, and her and murphy together, and it works so so well. 

 

i'm so so so curious as to what went down between her murphy because it doesn't sound like it was an amicable breakup exactly and the way you write it, i get such a sense of how good a 'ship it was before, yk? how happy they were - for a while at least. i know this is a sequel, haha, so i've sort of gone about this backwards, lol, but it's definitely making me want to go back and read the prequel, just to see how things went so wrong. 

 

i love raven! and her friendship with emma is so sweet and so strong - and i'm always a sucker for seeing friendship in stories, haha, they're just so often neglected or at least, pushed aside a bit for the sake of romance, but i love how emma's friendship with raven - and even the others, the way bellamy picks up on her and murphy arguing, the line about kinda good-natured bickering over the music in the car on the way down to the beachhouse - it's just so good and it fills this story out so so much and so well. though i have a lot of sympathy for poor raven with mcsteamy coming down to join the group - or not join, as the case may turn out to be - and emma's disbelief, even if it is kinda funny :P 

 

your writing is so so good. i really do love that it's so character-led: it makes this so thoughtful and so intimate, almost, because we're really seeing it so narrowly through emma's eyes and so in-depth, and you're just so good at creating stories and characters with so many layers and so much depth and so much emotion - and that comes through so beautifully even where, like in this, it's not the most emotionally-heavy chapter. but tbh that's a harder thing to do than the super emotional stuff, yk?? 

 

also also i'm so curious to see where things go from here. is murphy staying the whole time? will he and emma argue? will emma succeed in her bet with raven? will we ever meet mcsteamy??? ;P 

 

this is such a good start!! :) 

 

laura xx



Name: Aphoride (Signed) · Date: 14 Jun 2021 06:44 PM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

hi there, jill!! i'm so so so late on this, i'm so sorry - better late than never is really being pushed to it's limited with this :/ but i'm here for our review swap! 

 

you have such a gift for writing people, you know that?? just, complicated, real, 3d people - people i feel like i could know or have known in real life, with all the flaws and difficulties and hypocrises that means. it's so so good and i always love your characters - they feel like friends and i feel so invested in their lives and their stories, haha, and emma. just. i love her?? the conflict she feels about being back at the beachhouse post-breakup, the hurt when she sees murphy, and the way she can't help but get defensive and a lil bit spiteful - hating that the burger's cooked exactly how she likes it; being snippy without really any reason to be - it's all so normal and so human and it fills out this beautiful characterisation-backstory for her, and her and murphy together, and it works so so well. 

 

i'm so so so curious as to what went down between her murphy because it doesn't sound like it was an amicable breakup exactly and the way you write it, i get such a sense of how good a 'ship it was before, yk? how happy they were - for a while at least. i know this is a sequel, haha, so i've sort of gone about this backwards, lol, but it's definitely making me want to go back and read the prequel, just to see how things went so wrong. 

 

i love raven! and her friendship with emma is so sweet and so strong - and i'm always a sucker for seeing friendship in stories, haha, they're just so often neglected or at least, pushed aside a bit for the sake of romance, but i love how emma's friendship with raven - and even the others, the way bellamy picks up on her and murphy arguing, the line about kinda good-natured bickering over the music in the car on the way down to the beachhouse - it's just so good and it fills this story out so so much and so well. though i have a lot of sympathy for poor raven with mcsteamy coming down to join the group - or not join, as the case may turn out to be - and emma's disbelief, even if it is kinda funny :P 

 

your writing is so so good. i really do love that it's so character-led: it makes this so thoughtful and so intimate, almost, because we're really seeing it so narrowly through emma's eyes and so in-depth, and you're just so good at creating stories and characters with so many layers and so much depth and so much emotion - and that comes through so beautifully even where, like in this, it's not the most emotionally-heavy chapter. but tbh that's a harder thing to do than the super emotional stuff, yk?? 

 

also also i'm so curious to see where things go from here. is murphy staying the whole time? will he and emma argue? will emma succeed in her bet with raven? will we ever meet mcsteamy??? ;P 

 

this is such a good start!! :) 

 

laura xx



Name: Aphoride (Signed) · Date: 14 Jun 2021 06:43 PM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

hi there, jill!! i'm so so so late on this, i'm so sorry - better late than never is really being pushed to it's limited with this :/ but i'm here for our review swap! 

 

you have such a gift for writing people, you know that?? just, complicated, real, 3d people - people i feel like i could know or have known in real life, with all the flaws and difficulties and hypocrises that means. it's so so good and i always love your characters - they feel like friends and i feel so invested in their lives and their stories, haha, and emma. just. i love her?? the conflict she feels about being back at the beachhouse post-breakup, the hurt when she sees murphy, and the way she can't help but get defensive and a lil bit spiteful - hating that the burger's cooked exactly how she likes it; being snippy without really any reason to be - it's all so normal and so human and it fills out this beautiful characterisation-backstory for her, and her and murphy together, and it works so so well. 

 

i'm so so so curious as to what went down between her murphy because it doesn't sound like it was an amicable breakup exactly and the way you write it, i get such a sense of how good a 'ship it was before, yk? how happy they were - for a while at least. i know this is a sequel, haha, so i've sort of gone about this backwards, lol, but it's definitely making me want to go back and read the prequel, just to see how things went so wrong. 

 

i love raven! and her friendship with emma is so sweet and so strong - and i'm always a sucker for seeing friendship in stories, haha, they're just so often neglected or at least, pushed aside a bit for the sake of romance, but i love how emma's friendship with raven - and even the others, the way bellamy picks up on her and murphy arguing, the line about kinda good-natured bickering over the music in the car on the way down to the beachhouse - it's just so good and it fills this story out so so much and so well. though i have a lot of sympathy for poor raven with mcsteamy coming down to join the group - or not join, as the case may turn out to be - and emma's disbelief, even if it is kinda funny :P 

 

your writing is so so good. i really do love that it's so character-led: it makes this so thoughtful and so intimate, almost, because we're really seeing it so narrowly through emma's eyes and so in-depth, and you're just so good at creating stories and characters with so many layers and so much depth and so much emotion - and that comes through so beautifully even where, like in this, it's not the most emotionally-heavy chapter. but tbh that's a harder thing to do than the super emotional stuff, yk?? 

 

also also i'm so curious to see where things go from here. is murphy staying the whole time? will he and emma argue? will emma succeed in her bet with raven? will we ever meet mcsteamy??? ;P 

 

this is such a good start!! :) 

 

laura xx



Name: Aphoride (Signed) · Date: 14 Jun 2021 06:42 PM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

hi there, jill!! i'm so so so late on this, i'm so sorry - better late than never is really being pushed to it's limited with this :/ but i'm here for our review swap! 

 

you have such a gift for writing people, you know that?? just, complicated, real, 3d people - people i feel like i could know or have known in real life, with all the flaws and difficulties and hypocrises that means. it's so so good and i always love your characters - they feel like friends and i feel so invested in their lives and their stories, haha, and emma. just. i love her?? the conflict she feels about being back at the beachhouse post-breakup, the hurt when she sees murphy, and the way she can't help but get defensive and a lil bit spiteful - hating that the burger's cooked exactly how she likes it; being snippy without really any reason to be - it's all so normal and so human and it fills out this beautiful characterisation-backstory for her, and her and murphy together, and it works so so well. 

 

i'm so so so curious as to what went down between her murphy because it doesn't sound like it was an amicable breakup exactly and the way you write it, i get such a sense of how good a 'ship it was before, yk? how happy they were - for a while at least. i know this is a sequel, haha, so i've sort of gone about this backwards, lol, but it's definitely making me want to go back and read the prequel, just to see how things went so wrong. 

 

i love raven! and her friendship with emma is so sweet and so strong - and i'm always a sucker for seeing friendship in stories, haha, they're just so often neglected or at least, pushed aside a bit for the sake of romance, but i love how emma's friendship with raven - and even the others, the way bellamy picks up on her and murphy arguing, the line about kinda good-natured bickering over the music in the car on the way down to the beachhouse - it's just so good and it fills this story out so so much and so well. though i have a lot of sympathy for poor raven with mcsteamy coming down to join the group - or not join, as the case may turn out to be - and emma's disbelief, even if it is kinda funny :P 

 

your writing is so so good. i really do love that it's so character-led: it makes this so thoughtful and so intimate, almost, because we're really seeing it so narrowly through emma's eyes and so in-depth, and you're just so good at creating stories and characters with so many layers and so much depth and so much emotion - and that comes through so beautifully even where, like in this, it's not the most emotionally-heavy chapter. but tbh that's a harder thing to do than the super emotional stuff, yk?? 

 

also also i'm so curious to see where things go from here. is murphy staying the whole time? will he and emma argue? will emma succeed in her bet with raven? will we ever meet mcsteamy??? ;P 

 

this is such a good start!! :) 

 

laura xx



Name: Crimson Quill (Signed) · Date: 30 May 2021 09:02 PM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

 

hi jill,

 

i'm here for our swap, yayyyy.

 

I have a lot of deep feelings about this chapter, ir  can't believe that you've broken up memma like how?? i'm so sad but also excited because it means that you're going to build them  back up again so that's what I'm hoping anyways because you know these idiots write themselves these days and they belong together like so much.

 

i love the friendship between raven and emma, they've always had an amazing chemistry when you do write them s t. raven is probably my fave side character from your universe. she's witty, sassy and she is always there to check emma and tell her out it is. she is always there to check emma and tell her out it is. i don't approve of this bet though. it seems like might hurt the whole emma/murphy getting back together. it's a very emma thing to do though. she's always deflecting and trying to channel her emotions into something about she doesn't know what else to do. so totally on brand emma. 100%

 

i love murphy's character so much, i'm so excited to read his pov because he is just heart eye emojis. you write his sarcastic bitter side so well but he's still so funny and witty. the dialogue between emma and murphy is always amazing, being emotional, banter or plain hating on each other. it's all so good. there is so much juicy tension there already and i love it so much. still mad you broke them up but getting to see them get together again sounds amazing too! i love how you reference murphy being good at cooking, making her  burger  perfectly too like he still cares. i love the start of this so promising but kinda  hate that you broke them up so you have to finish this start so all can be set right.

abbi xx

 



Name: grumpy cat (Signed) · Date: 21 May 2021 07:20 PM · For: this is looking like a contest of who could act like they care less

jill hi friend i'm here for our swapp

 

i'm actually legit so excited to read murphy's pov because idk i guess he's always just sort of...kinda guarded in a way? maybe i'm misreading him but i it's just a feeling i got, like, yeah, he's not great at showing exactly how he feels and all that so i just love that you're also writing this from his pov

 

and of course his immediate thought when he realises he's thinking like not-a-dick- (which tbh we all know he isn't actually a dick) is he wouldn't admit that to anyone and i just love that lol. it makes no sense but i'm weak for it okay. i love that he loves his friends and emma so much and he's there for them even when it's difficult, and especially when it's difficult and that's fucking great and did i mention i love it

 

but godd no he's being sulky for the wrong reason. kinda. i mean the two of them, emma and him, are just terrible at talking but still ughh it hurts and he can't take his eyes off of emma he's so far gone i can't even it's so obvious why did they have to be broken up

 

and like oh godddd fucking hell there's like so much chemistry between them in uhhh two sentences they exchange like howw is that even possible???? and the two of them standing in silence, smoking outside of a bar together but not together, it's all so hot in a way and like there's so much potential.

 

yk.

 

if they'd talk to each other.

 

properly.

 

maybe kiss.

 

something like that anyway, i digress.

 

but 'somehow i was home' my heart is hurting at this a lot and it's all your fault jill. but. in a good way

 

i can't with murphy's self-pity or idk what it is when he thinks none of the others are his actual friends but omg at the same time i totally get it and i understand him and i wanna like not hug him because i feel like he'd bite but something like that, i just feel he's so relatable.

 

though i'm definitely glad that bellamy is pretty insistent on showing him he's wrong. and that lil heart-to-heart about emma was just...nice in a way, because it seems like bellamy is also rooting for them as he should and i love that

 

bahhh that last scene with the coffee and the two of them alone again i just wanted to shake both of them into some sense like how are you two just what even why are you being like this pls stoppppp

 

emma saying that's what she wants oh god no whyyyyy and meeting kyle and i just ugh and murphy is also just being sutbborn and kinda prideful and dude just for once go for it but also i know he won't, or at least not yet and they're both being idiots that need to start making sense of what they want soon asap because like it's not fair

 

and murphy checking out/pining after emma when she's making coffee made me go all heart eyes at that whole thing because damnnn

 

love it okay

 

write more soon pls

 

kris



Name: down-in-flames (Signed) · Date: 12 May 2021 03:37 AM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

hi jill, here for our swap!!

 

i love that we’re back at the cabin a year later, although i get the sinking feeling that this fic happening means that the end of nights like these wasn’t a happy ever after and there is……. more to come. especially since murphy isn’t in any of the cars mentioned.

 

ok it’s been a while since i’ve watched grey’s but i know a grey’s reference when i see one - but omg the fact that emma just doesn’t think this person exists is hilarious to me, but also, if they don’t, why would raven even say they’re coming lol, i feel like that is a very hard thing to hide

 

alternatively raven should just find someone random and there could be a whole fake date trope thing going on in the background of this fic, if mcsteamy is not in fact a real person

 

aiehfg;ajfhag no they broke up

 

i mean i had kinda thought that might be the case but also nooooo

 

i need to know what happened there

 

also i fully support blasting taylor swift as relationship therapy but i also fully support blasting taylor swift for no reason at all, i will straight up be in a happy relationship screaming all too well in my car like i’d just gone through the worst breakup of my life

 

AEAIEGHVALIFG HE’S HERE

 

this is going to be drama and also hopefully lead to some backstory about *why* they broke up and uhhhhh also hopefully lead to them getting back together?? please??

 

ok this whole interaction is very cold and this was clearly not a good breakup i need to know all of the messy details asap

 

also that last line is a mood it is extremely annoying when someone you dislike does something well :P

 

as always, you have me hooked - i can’t wait to come back for more <3

 

-taylor



Name: maraudertimes (Signed) · Date: 30 Apr 2021 09:50 PM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

JILLLL here for our review swap and to read more about the chaotic loves that make up one of my fav ships, Memma!! <3


Okay first things first, loving the picspam! V cute and makes me v excited for everything to come!!! WOOOOOO LETS GET INTO IT


Alright so if they all show up… where’s murphy??? WHRE IS HE JILL?!?


And who is McSteamy?!?!? Dang so many mysteries, so little time…


UGH THEY BROKE UP?!?!? THANKS JILL FOR RUINING MY HAPPINESS!! CRUEL SUMMER INDEED


HELL YEAH HOT GIRL SUMMEr GET IT EMMA!!!!


HE WAS INVITED AND SHE WASNT TOLD?!?! Okay what shitty friend did this (or good friend if their MO was to get them together again… but still she shouldve been told)


OKAY BUT LIKE HE FIXED HER BURGER JUST THE WAY SHE LIKES IT??!?!? Why is that making me cry?!?!?


THATS IT!?!??!? THATS ALL YOURE GIVING US?!?!?!? JILL WTF MY DUDE COME ON NOW THATS NOT ENOUGH!!! UGH I GOTTA READ MORE NOW BUT THERES ONLY TWO CHAPTER YOU CANT BE DOING THIS TO ME AHHHHHHHHHHHH


Anyways my caps lock is off (for now) but im sure reading more itll switch back on again, but either way thanks so much for writing this jill, im super excited to see where it goes with these two (not-so-)lovebirds and hoping that it gets happy soon (SOON!!!)

 

Lo <3




Name: grumpy cat (Signed) · Date: 18 Apr 2021 11:46 AM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

hii i'm here for our swap!

 

i read nights like these....a while ago so i'm excited to read the sequel!

 

i already really love the way you've descirbed the beach at the start of the chapter, it's just so vivid, especially with emma even smiling after, yk, everything, and like, she's giving of this alone-ish vibe but she's still present, her friends are somewhere in the background (except raven who's right there next to her) and even if she's feeling introspective, it's just a good kinda vibe, yk? idk if that makes sense but like she's lighter almost? idk idk i feel like i'm rambling but i felt like that one smile and the thought of how right now everything feels *okay* means so much!

 

and raven is being all shifty which makes me go all :EYES: at this mystery mcsteamy but but i laughed out loud at emma being all like 'okay i believe you' and raven getting all annoyed but i'm excited for when they show up :EYES:

 

but ahh murphy. i didn't miss that he's not there, though i'm definitely hoping he will appear at some point soon because uhhh emma's 'i'm over it' meaning the breakup doesn't sound all that convincing but at the same time i remember reading in your novel nest (i think??) how that even after the breakup they both learned to grow and all that so i feel like them getting back together is going to be super cool :EYES:

 

and fucking hell obviously she is not over it at all butttt it makes the whole thing more deliciously exciting when murphy does show up because...he has to, right? LOL OKAY HE IS ACTUALLY HERE OKAY

 

and everyone is just...........not paying any attention while emma is over there being uhhh???wtf-pls-send-help-i'm-totally-over-it-yeah-right this is kinda funny even though uh it's not funny for emma but oh well

 

but ughhh they're being dicks towards each other right now which is not great for them but i love peak drama so i'm just loving all of it, especially the 'we're being civil' snark ahhah.

 

super excited to read more, esp murphy's pov :EYES:

 

kris



Name: prideofprewett (Signed) · Date: 04 Apr 2021 04:31 PM · For: this is looking like a contest of who could act like they care less

Hi Jill, my apologies for the delay in getting to your request! Wow Murphy's pining even post break up was so aptly felt. And his moment of hesitation in the end...urgh! But I think from an emotional impact standpoint, you did a really great job making us feel all the things as readers. I felt the tension brewing when they're all out drinking. I think with Perri and Bellamy you did a great job injecting humor into a tense situation. I enjoy a good character banter  

 

I love John Murphy, ok? You can tell he still cares deeply for Emma, but he's giving her the choice on how they proceed with things and urghhh...she's choosing not to be with him and it's hurting me. But hey, I understand as a writer why we make these kind of choices and I think it totally makes sense. You're giving us a great story, and I really am going to need another chapter asap, mmkay?! 

 

Also, I too, love watching a coffee pot fill up and the rituals associated with coffee and the smells and everything. I know you sometimes help out in your bookshops cafe, and I totally get like cozy vibes every time I read something you write related to coffee. I know it's a smaller detail on the grander scale of this chapter, but I just wanted you to know that I loved it.  

 

And Kyle...of course there would be someone to make JM all ruffled and bothered and shit. But he's keeping his opinions to himself, which is so different than how he is whenever things are good between Emma and him. But he's a decent dude and we see that here for taking this approach and so it makes me love John Murphy even more. 

 

So here we are Jill. At the end of another well executed chapter and I find myself needing more. So more, please? :)

 

<3 Courtney



Name: shadowycorner (Signed) · Date: 04 Apr 2021 10:16 AM · For: this is looking like a contest of who could act like they care less

Oh dear oh dear, this gives me so much heartache. He almost told her, they almost moved somewhere, and then...it all fell apart. I feel that narratively this is a really great chapter, like the one before was kind of this beginning and set up, letting us know what's up with the characters, and this one was where it had the potential to fix itself but one hesitation and it all derailed and now the train's off into uncharted territory! I felt so bad for Murphy for not saying anything. Maybe it has something to do with how things ended with them, but then Emma made that comment about how yes, this is what she wants, and my heart sank as well as his. After that, of course he couldn't really say anything since that would kind of go against her wishes. I think it also means that Emma needs time to figure shit out. Clearly she's not ready to accept Murphy's peace offering right now, which will make things more complicated I'm sure, but also DRAMA, so I secretly approve although my heart is crying, lol. 

 

I liked how Bellamy approached Murphy and easily deflected all of Murphy's antagonism lol. It really shows he's built up a sort of armor towards this sharp sarcasm, courtesy of Emma Rhodes. 

 

Ugh, Kyle, I already dislike him, don't ask me why, I do not need to explain myself :D :D :D 

 

Murphy and Perri's back and forth and endless kicks under the table made me laugh, like friends, your friendship is wonderful but it must give you a lot of shin bruises lol. It was a bit sad as well, though, they seemed isolated and lonely a bit. 

 

Ah, but Jill, it was such an engaging chapter, and being in Murphy's head for the first time was amazing. i thought the way his thoughts worked felt very in-character for his type of personality, outwardly tough and snarky but soft and vulnerable inside. And you did a good job of giving us some insight into his head and the situation while still succesfully keeping a lot of the main information away from us. 


Looking forward to the next! 

 

Eli



Name: shadowycorner (Signed) · Date: 25 Mar 2021 09:09 PM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

What a super rude chapter, Jill!!!

 

I mean, I'm just kidding, it was a great chapter, it just had me, as I've already made known to you, SHOOK, when the words 'You broke up' were said :O I guess I should've seen it coming based on the summary and all but my heart was so sick for more Emma/Murphy, ready to just see them happy that I walked into this story with a full-on denial lol. But like, ok, I can't wait to see how this develops because I love the trop of Getting Back Together, which BETTER BE HAPPENING HERE! 

 

Ok so in the beginning of the chapter, Emma being back at the beach house, I loved it because it felt like she had grown a lot since the last story, there was this peace about her, a calm, like she had finally moved on a little from the darkness of that one fateful summer from years ago, and I loved seeing that. 

 

Then, you proceeded to break my heart by those lines, but after I yelled at you on twitter (sorry, ily) and did a couple of breathing exercises, I settled down and LOL at Emma being all dishing out bets to have fun, I mean why not, she's single and so good for her, but also OMG THIS WILL BE INTENSE if Murphy's there and there will be JEALOUSY I BET. Oh dear oh dear, like when the chapter goes further and Emma's in the water and just thinking about Murphy, I mean </3 WHAT HAPPENED? She says that he didn't want to be with her, didn't care, and I see that maybe we as the reader are not ready to know the real deal of what happened but I'm so so so so curious because I just thought they were so wonderful together but god, relationships are so hard sometimes and it's not uncommon for people who do love each other to just lose each other anyway and it's sadddddd, and then...he's JUST THERE, and even though I kinda knew he would be, it still floored me in that moment like it did Emma. 

 

Ugh ugh it HURTS how indifferent they act around eac other WHYYYYY JILL!!! but I have hope, because if they haven't seen each other since the breakup, then of course things couldn't be fixed, but now they will be around each other and they will HAVE TPO TALK and see each other and deal with stuff, and I'm super excited to see where you take this!! 

 

And so when I said this chapter was rude, I actually meant it was pretty great :D 

 

Eli



Name: prideofprewett (Signed) · Date: 23 Mar 2021 10:17 AM · For: august slipped away into a moment in time

Ok, so WHY DID THEY BREAK UP JILL?! I demand...I mean...I would like to know. 

 

But ok, I enjoy the relationship between Raven and Emma you show here. Their bet LOL. "Do I get a bonus if I sleep with more than one?" You had me laughing so hard at that. What a cheeky gal. 

 

And I love that Raven's SO is nicknamed McSteamy haha. I appreciate a good Greys reference (particularly when the character in question was EVERYTHING to me. McSteamy was my dood <3). 

 

AND JOHNNN. Omgawsh. Ok, they're talking at least. BUT WHAT HAPPENED JILL?! WHY DID THEY BREAK UPPP?!

 

Omg the rationale behind the McSteamy nickname! I'm loving it! 

 

The burger cooked to perfection. And her hating it. That seems pretty plausible. I'd be like "damnit this jerkface and his amazing burgers and I still feel something for him." It's relatable. 

 

Ok, but WHY JILL? WHY DID THEY BREAK UP? I NEED MORE OF THIS OK?!

 

<3 Courtney



You must login (register) to review.