Login/ validation issues? Or need to contact us for any other reason? ×
FanficTalk

Help! I have too many WIPs!

Guest pookha

Guest pookha

I'm sure I'm not the only one who suffers from toomanyWIPs-itis, and was looking for some help focusing on them. How do y'all manage it?

For example: I have a story that I've been meaning to finish re-writing for, oh, about six years now, but when I open it in Word, I just go bleah and close it again. I did recently finish a story I'd been working on for the same amount of time, but in the time it took to finish it the Brexit vote ruined the planned ending (which was going to be Brexiting in the Magical World, lolz, I'm a seer, I guess). I have 2 stories that I've been working on for a few years and will write new chapters for occasionally, but then I get distracted by writing one-shots and challenges. I also have a story that I've abandoned, but really, really want to come back to, but I'm afraid that I don't have the technical skills for it. I have so many ideas that I want to work on, but prioritizing them and finding time in my schedule to write is hard right now.

;TLDR --how do you prioritize so your WIPs don't overwhelm you?

• 3 weeks later...

I'm not sure I can be of any help here, as I myself don't even dare to start a proper multi-chaptered fic...

What caught my eyes is you saying that Brexit ruined your fic about Brexiting in the Magical World, I just can't see why that would be - if anything it makes it even more exciting! Which fic of yours is that? I want to read it :)

As for prioritization, as I see it, this shouldn't be something to think about a lot - you write for fun, you write what you want, there is no need to force yourself to finish anything, just go where your muse takes you <3